Center for Interfaith Cooperation

Hoosiers of Many Faiths in Community

KP Singh on the 2018 Interfaith Banquet

The Fourth Annual Awards Banquet was organized by The Center for Interfaith Cooperation at The Indianapolis Museum of Art. Several dignitaries including U.S. Congresswoman Susan Brooks, Congressman Andre Carson, Indianapolis Mayor Joseph Hogsett, and Judge Sarah Evans Barker; and many faith and interfaith leaders, and friends from many faith and cultural traditions attended the festivities. Several congratulatory messages were received, including from Governor Eric J. Holcomb, Senator Richard Lugar, Rabbi Julie Schonfield, Mayor Jim Brainard, U.S. Senators Joe Donnelly and Todd Young, many faith leaders and organizations and incorporated in the Program Booklet. The past three Interfaith Ambassador of the Year Award recipients – Don Knebel, Sister Norma Rocklage,OSF, and KP Singh were present among the 375 guests.

Interfaith Ambassadors of the Year: Don Knebel, KP Singh, Sr. Norma Rocklage, Rabbi Sandy Sasso & Rabbi Dennis Sasso

Beautiful testimonies about the outstanding faith, interfaith, and community leadership of the Rabbis Dennis and Sandy were offered by Rev. Kent Millard, Michael Maurer, Marsha Goldstein, Jeff Smulyan, Indiana folk singer Carrie Newcomer, and others.

On behalf of the CIC, Board members Waseema Ali and the 2017 Interfaith Ambassador of the Year Award recipient Sister Norma Rocklage,OSF proclaimed Rabbi Sandy Sasso and Rabbi Dennis Sasso as 2018 Interfaith Ambassadors of the Year. A specially created KP Singh artwork: “Cathedrals of Spirit” was presented to Rabbis Sandy and Dennis Sasso as the CIC official award. Rabbis Dennis and Sandy Sasso were gracious, thoughtful, funny, illuminating and inspiring in their acceptance response. Our hearty congratulations to Rabbi Sandy and Rabbi Dennis Sasso.

It was a pleasure to share the evening with many special friends – Janice Singh, Robbie Singh and Maninder Walia; Anita Hjorth Lerche and Soren HjorthChirjeev and Baljit Singh Oberoi; Mrs. and Paramjit Singh Dhadwal; Amit and Rupal ThanawalaLindsey Mintz and Charlie WilesBalbir Singh and Parveen Kumar; Judith Cebula and Larry Gerstein, and others.

Tags: , ,

Leave your comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.